top of page

Thoughts & Things

Search

First Words of Many


Today is Monday, and it's the first day that I haven't spent at least 2 hours building this website. After much thought, and consideration, comparing and contrasting, and trying real hard to seem legitimate, I named my website after myself. Because honestly, I can't keep up with trendy names with ampersands, backslashes, and double-meanings. My name is Moriah Grace Obrecht, and I guess you could say that I've unraveled myself, realized that I am quite simple, and need not make something out of myself that isn't true.

This will be a blog about life, dreams, beliefs, food, and honestly anything I can think of! I've read plenty of blogs, and though I'm sure that this one will be similar to others out there, I truly hope to inspire you readers to recognize the simple and even mundane parts of life as beautiful. And though I have had and will have plenty of opportunities to travel, and experience lovely things, nothing will be sweet unless I exercise the parts of my heart and mind that express gratitude.


Our little family in my early years, most likely looking for a Christmas Tree.



I come from a family of five, and I am the youngest. Born in Aurora, CO, the mountains quickly became my solace and sense of security. My family unit and I would head for the hills to camp every summer, we would ski in the winter, and do much in between. These little adventures quickly arose a tiny wanderer inside of me, and leading up to my teen years, I couldn't help but wish I lived somewhere else.



At sixteen, my parents and I went on a tour with our massive church choir to the Czech Republic and Israel, which honestly did nothing for the ailment of discontentment but fuel the flame and make me itchy. What an image! Maybe I should rewrite it...or leave it, because it really is how I felt! Itchy. I met a cute boy in Czechia (just trying to be honest here, people), which was plenty enough to get me to sign on to English camps; a week-long program to teach youth and teens English through conversation. I did that for a couple of years, and then discovered a program run by the same organization that was similar, but music-focused. Oh, there went another three years. After each summer, I would confidently answer the question of, "will you do it again?" with an enthusiastic, "DUH, Czech is my second home!" and kept my promise by returning. Memories of the Beskydy Mountains awakening me with mist, and exhausting me by the evening with unrelenting humid heat come to me now, and my what a time it was. The most recent endeavor was a six month stint as an intern with the very same organization. My world turned upside down, and all that I thought I knew was shaken AND stirred. I came home tired, confused, angry, with bronchitis, and yet still determined. I believed that I would move there and carry out my desire to live abroad.

Nearly six years later, I am still in Denver, haven't visited Czech, and have lost language skills, friends, and dreams for that nation. It hasn't worked out, and I can say with all honesty NOW, that I am grateful. Though if you had asked me even one year ago, I would still be holding back tears saying, "I don't know!".




Though it may seem that I rabbit-trailed there, let me bring it around full-circle. That story is a broad image of a complicated way of life that I've lived for far too long. Dreaming, hoping, forcing and denying my way into something that I think is either the best, or expected life for me. Believing it was God calling me, and making others believe it with me, ended with hurt and doubt. I hurt people, and I blasphemed the God I so loyally believed in by saying that He was the reason. And I honestly kept forcing it because I thought it was all I was capable of doing- the missionary thing. Funny how insecurity works. Now, years later, my dreams and ideas have stopped at: Linguist. Yet another reason to travel. *insert eye-roll emoji*...I'm good at conjuring up things that I could actually be good at to get me to places I've dreamt of being in. At one point I was going to do a pottery residency in Lisbon(not even my family knows about that one)! It had gotten way out of hand, and the last few months have been nothing but crickets on my end. And when the crickets sang, it beckoned something that not even I could have imagined, which makes me believe the whole malarkey that says, "When you stop looking, it will come to you." thing. More on that later, but my point is that this blog is a place where I want to be honest and kind to all of you readers, offer up anything you can take, and learn to grow and remember that wherever I am is where I need to b, and I hope this will inspire you to do the same.




32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page