top of page

Thoughts & Things

Search

January - August 2018 Favorite Reads

In the beginning of 2018, I got a new job that meant more consistent hours, and less going home feeling mentally, physically, and emotionally exhausted. Years have passed that were spent doing much more scrambling about than sitting and indulging in any book, so this change was warmly welcomed. This year is different, and I must say; nothing makes me feel more humble and patient than finishing up an epic tome or humble biography that has absolutely nothing to do with me, an everything to do with someone else. Now, given my (minimal) reading history, I am working hard to broaden my list of "to read"'s to touch on a bit more than classics like: A Tale of Two Cities by Dickens, and Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte. To be fair, I did pick up an unavoidable classic by the infamous Dostoevsky, simply because Russian literature is a most alluring and melancholy genre. I can't keep my little hands off a good existential and morally questionable tale. More on that later, folks. Worry not! So in an effort keep myself reading, and excited about the opportunity to learn, I've decided to share some of my favorite books from a handful that I've read in 2018.


1.Pachinko by Min Jin Lee



Min Jin Lee enraptured my heart with this epic. Harmoniously coupling historical accounts with fictional storytelling had me whizzing through each page with serious fervor. This is a story following the lives of multiple members of a Korean family starting with Japan's occupation, the split between North and South Korea, all the way up to the late 20th century. I found it not only respectable, but compelling - how an author can cover so much time, history, and character development so well. Every emotion was given space to breathe, and some emotions that I didn't even know existed made themselves known as well. It also made me want to go get a bowl of kimchi ramen STAT. You'll get where that's coming from if ya just read the thing.





2.Half Broke Horses by Jeanette Walls



After reading this bestseller, I seriously considered volunteering away my Saturdays at the nearest ranch just so I can feel that much closer to the matriarch of this novel. The way Jeannette Walls captures her grandmothers voice, and wraps you up in the story as if you were a part of it is nothing shy of extraordinary. In a world full of longing to escape mundane life to run into the glamorous lifestyle of travel and "adventure", this novel inspires a new-found admiration and pride in being an American in it's readers. It speaks well into the homesteading days of the wild west, and paints a beautiful picture of loving and letting be. A hint of female empowerment, a dab of relatability, and a massive helping of compelling imagery will leave you begging for more.





3.Pensees by Blaise Pascal


If you're anything like me, you'll be swooning almost instantly at the first glance of this wonderful collection of thoughts and ideas. With my Precise pen in hand, I found myself underlining nearly every other sentence, screaming a "Yes!" and "Amen!" to it along the way. I imagine a young version of Blaise sitting on a park bench with plenty to think about, scratching away at a little journal only to be copied onto paper hours later. It feels almost like a conversation that you desperately wish you could get in on. The downside to the whole thing is that thoughts rarely develop into anything more, like an unfinished painting, or reaching the end of an eraser on those darned yellow pencils, it feels like no matter how much you dig, or keep painting, nothing will satisfy the initial thoughts. So good luck, for this reading is not for the faint of heart, or problem-solving folk.




4.The Brothers Karamazov by Fyodor Dostoevsky


The Brothers K is one of those massive works that was most-likely schlopped down on your dented and sticky desk in the 11th grade. Unfortunately, an 11th grader could not, and will not understand the gravity and cultural relevance it holds unless they are some sort of literary prodigy. I feel fortunate to have dodged that reading assignment, and have now finished this book at age 25. Terrifyingly thick, and intimidating in nature, I felt courageous and far more equipped than usual, picking up one of Dostoevsky's great works. I immediately latched on to one of the brothers, Alyosha-a truly honorable and kind man that was dealt the unlucky hand in regards to family. With a narcissistic and neglectful father, and outrightly selfish and sinful brothers, this long and painful story covers everything from eastern church history to strategizing a win in regards to the average family feud. It is both worldly, and alien in nature; evoking thought and emotion left untapped due to fear of unraveling. I set this tome down after months of working through it feeling completely seen, and understood...yet unimportant in the most important way. Be prepared to be challenged in your theology, your understanding of organized religion, and get ready to stare yourself right in the mirror for a little too long. Because that is the aim of this brilliant work.





5.The Bone People by Keri Hulme


Reading this novel felt eerily similar to peeking at a journal tucked away in an antique store written years before my existence was even a fore-thought. Each word is deliberate, and bold, yet difficult to unravel at times. It's almost like reading another language, or seeing into someone else's mind. Eventually, the context and voice become more clear, and you are left sensing a closeness and unimaginable sense of empathy for each character written into being. This is no feel-good book. Not even close. Though laughter is inevitable, the immediate realization after each chuckle is that life is fragile and should not be laughed at. Be prepared to challenge your own emotional fortitude, dive in deep with strangers, and come out questioning more than you knew was possible. Though it may seem that from all of the above that I didn't enjoy it, but I can say in all honesty that it was one of the most enjoyable reading experiences of my life. Maybe that means I can add "emotional masochist" to my resume, I don't know...but what I do know is that I would urge anyone who is willing to push through the difficult writing style of this book, to do just that. I promise with my whole being that this is worth the effort.



There you have it, friends. There were plenty of books in between each of these reads, but these ones struck me special. Please let me know in the comments below if you've read these, and what your thoughts are.


Keep nerdy, and read on,


Moriah Grace Obrecht




35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page